Looks Like Our Guardians Will Be Transferable To The Inevitable ‘Destiny 2’ And Beyond

Your Guardians will make the jump to Destiny 2 and however many other ones may be planned.

Destiny itself may be majorly lacking in content, but that’s OK (not) because expansions and a Destiny 2 are already in the works (yay). Even though our Alpha and Beta guardian data was not transferable to the main game when it launched in September, the new word is that you will be able to take your guardians throughout however many Destiny sequels they’re currently cooking up.

Bungie’s David “Deej” Dague said the following in an interview with IGN:

“The idea is that the Guardian you have created is something you can bring along with you on that adventure. If you take a look at the way people have played other games for a long period of time, they’ve had a relationship with the same character for a very long time.”

There’s no news when we can expect Destiny 2, but the game’s first expansion is out this week.

‘Destiny’ The Dark Below Expansion Fully Detailed Right Here

Lots of stuff in the first expansion for Destiny.

Next week Bungie’s Destiny will be getting its first major expansion called The Dark Below. Bungie has gone on record saying that this expansion will bring many new things to the table and change the way people play the game going forward.

Below is a list of everything that will be included in The Dark Below expansion, from upgrading changes all the way to PvP and PvE changes:

New Legendary Gear

  • Existing Legendary gear on display in the Tower will be replaced
  • New Legendary gear will feature higher Attack and Defense values
  • Legendary items will still require Ascendant Materials for upgrades
  • This new, more powerful gear will be available to all players of Destiny
  • Legendary gear will not be as powerful as new Raid gear or Exotics

New Rank Commendations

  • In addition to Crucible or Vanguard Marks, purchasing new Legendary items will require a Crucible or Vanguard Commendation
  • Commendations are received in Reputation Reward Packages delivered by the Postmaster upon reaching a new Reputation Level

Exotic Talent Changes

  • As part of the December 1st Destiny Update, Exotic Armor and Weapons no longer require Ascendant Materials for upgrades
  • The final power node of all Exotic Gear will require an Exotic Shard
  • This new material is obtained by one of the following means:
  • Dismantling unwanted Exotics
  • Purchased from Xûr for 7 Strange Coins

New Exotic Upgrading

Exotic Gear in The Dark Below will have higher Attack and Defense values than current Exotic Gear. For players and their current caches of Exotics, a path will exist to bring them forward into The Dark Below.

  • Starting December 9th, Xûr will offer players the opportunity to upgrade Exotics to the higher Attack and Defense values
  • Upgrading an Exotic in this way will require an Exotic Shard
  • The upgrade will reset the progression invested into the item
  • Each week, Xûr will possess a selection of upgrades for existing Exotics in his inventory

Crucible (PvP) Changes

  • Expansion I will include two new exclusive competitive playlists
  • New Crucible arenas (Pantheon, Skyshock, and The Cauldron) will be featured in map rotation
  • Playlists available in the Director will change week over week
  • Experiences will alternate between 12 and 6 player engagements
  • Map rotation will alternate between focusing solely on new expansion arenas and including original launch maps in the mix

Heroics and Nightfall (PvE) Changes

  • With the Light level increase to 32, Heroics and Nightfalls will be increased by 2 Light levels to keep up with new content, level increases, and gear items

New Raid: Crota’s End

  • The new Raid, Crota’s End, will unlock on December 9th
  • Players at Light level 30 can lead a Fireteam immediately upon release
  • The reward system in Crota’s End will address some issues reported in the Vault of Glass:
  • Raid loot in Crota’s End will drop at a higher rate
  • New Raid gear will contain a wider variety of potential perks
  • Weapons and Gear from Crota’s End will not require Ascendant materials for upgrades
  • Radiant Shards and Radiant Energy acquired in the Raid will be used to upgrade new Raid gear
  • Unwanted weapons and gear from Crota’s End will dismantle into Radiant materials
  • Primary weapons will only drop in the harder version of Crota’s End, released sometime in January

Below is the launch trailer for The Dark Below:

First ‘Destiny’ Expansion ‘The Dark Below’ Coming This December

Get more content this December.

Bungie has revealed that Destiny will be getting its first major expansion on December 9th, and it is called The Dark Below. The expansion will feature a new story that will be packed with new weapons and gear for gamers to grind for, with more co-op and multiplayer activities also inbound.

Here are some of the things that The Dark Below will be bringing to Destiny:

  • The Light level cap is being raised to 32
  • A new character named Eris will be in The Tower with new story quests to experience
  • A new Strike called the Will of Crota
  • Three new multiplayer arenas: Pantheon, Skyshock and The Cauldron
  • New six-player raid called Crota’s End
  • PlayStation platforms getting exclusive Strike, Exotic weapon and more

Destiny The Dark Below

The president of Bungie, Harold Ryan, said the following in the press release:

Destiny was created as a living universe, which has allowed us to improve the experience post launch in real-time. It also gives us insight into the things players are looking for in new content. We’ve seen from feedback that people want new activities, gear and weapons and of course the immensely popular Raid. The community helps shape our development decisions and that’s really important to us.”

The Dark Below can be purchased for $20 individually or $35 as part of the Destiny Expansions Pass that will also bring a second expansion at some point next year.